Navigating the Linux landscape in BCA...

Navigating the Linux landscape in BCA...

ยท

2 min read

In the vast realm of programming, and OSes, my journey as a BCA student has been enriched by the diverse experiences offered by Ubuntu, Fedora, and CentOS. While many of my fellow engineering friends mostly work with Ubuntu, my exploration of these three Linux giants has been a unique and enlightening aspect of my academic journey.

Ubuntu 22.04: The Linux desktop for work

Ubuntu, with its widespread popularity, is a gateway for many into the Linux universe. Its friendly UI make it an ideal start for coding enthusiasts. As a BCA student, Ubuntu has laid the groundwork for collaborative projects and honed my troubleshooting skills, providing a good foundation in managing OS related errors.

Getting ready for Fedora Linux Fedora Magazine %

Fedora, for me, has been a revelation in terms of embracing cutting-edge technologies and staying at the front of the open-source community. The amazing updates and developer-centric features of Fedora have allowed me to stay ahead of the curve.

How to Install GUI on CentOS 7 [Complete Guide] | Cloudzy

On the enterprise side of the spectrum, CentOS has played a good role in expanding my skill set. Renowned for its stability and reliability, CentOS offers a glimpse into the intricate infrastructure of large-scale systems. Being a space science enthusiast, recently I witnessed the live launch of GSLV F14/INSAT 3DS on ISRO's YouTube stream. There I saw that all the live flight parameters and event the spacecraft's health was shown completely on CentOS!

It was a point when I wondered that CentOS has still, its own specialized users, apart from other Linux kernels. I curiously zoomed into everyone's comp. screens from the live stream, & got to know that majority PCs in the ISTRAC control center had CentOS for operational purposes.

This exposure goes beyond the typical BCA curriculum, preparing me for real-world scenarios where robust and dependable systems are imperative.

In a landscape where many engineering students primarily work with Ubuntu, I think I'm fortunate to gain experience coding academically in Fedora & CentOS (diverse Linux environments). As a BCA student with a passion for Linux, embracing the trinity of Ubuntu, Fedora, and CentOS has been instrumental in shaping my coding journey.

.

.

.

.

.

#bca #linux #ubuntu #centos #fedora #coding #programming #computerscience

ย